
 
 

THE RULE  
EPA’s RRP Rule protects the public and workers from 
lead-based paint hazards associated with renovation, 
repair and painting activities. These activities can 
create hazardous lead chips and dust when lead-based 

paint surfaces are disturbed. 
The rule requires firms to be 
Lead Safe certified and at least 
one worker on the job site to 
be Renovator certified. 

WHY THE RRP RULE IS IMPORTANT 
Even low levels of lead in the blood of 
children can cause serious impacts on the 
way children develop, learn, and behave. 
Lead poisoning is 100% preventable! 

Compliance with the RRP Rule protects children and 
workers, but it also protects firms from costly 
enforcement actions and liability. The max penalty for 
RRP violations is over $40,000.

 

 

WHO MUST COMPLY WITH THE 
RRP RULE? 
All firms and individuals who receive compensation to 
perform RRP activities in pre-1978 housing and child- 
occupied facilities. This includes, but is not limited to: 

• Home improvement contractors 
• Property management and maintenance 
• Painters & other specialty trades 
• Window, door, and floor replacements 
• School/Daycare maintenance workers and contractors 

HOW TO BECOME A 
CERTIFIED RENOVATOR  
For RRP training, visit: www.epa.gov/lead and 
click on “Locate a RRP training class or 
provider” link to complete a search for 
upcoming training near you. 

A Renovator certification is valid for five 
years. A Renovator refresher training must be 
completed before the initial training expires to 
maintain an active certification. 

 

ADDITIONAL ONLINE 
RRP RESOURCES  
EPA Lead website: www.epa.gov/lead 

Renovate Right Pamphlet 
https://go.usa.gov/xsmPa 

RRP Small Entity Guide 
https://go.usa.gov/xsmP2 

RRP FAQs 
https://go.usa.gov/xsmPk 

Construction Industry RRP Compliance Help* 
https://www.cicacenter.org/leadrrp.php 
(*EPA does not endorse any external non-
government websites, companies or applications.) 

HOW TO BECOME A 
CERTIFIED FIRM 
To certify your business as an EPA Lead 
Safe, RRP Certified Firm visit: 
 www.epa.gov/lead/getcertified 

• Firm certification costs $300 and is valid 
for five years. 

• When registering for firm certification, 
you must search your firm first, even if 
you know it’s not certified. Once you 
complete the search, a “begin application 
to certify new firm” option will appear. 

• Companies, including property 
management companies, and sole 
proprietors must obtain firm certification. 
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RRP RULE 
• Intention is to complete routine renovation, 

repair, painting or maintenance work that will 
disturb lead-based paint as a consequence of the 
activity (includes interim controls) 

• 8-hour RRP Renovator training required 

• Firm certification with EPA required 

LEAD ABATEMENT  
• Intention is to permanently eliminate known  

lead-based paint and lead-based paint hazards 

• Check state requirements for training require- 
ments. In most states, 40-hour Lead Abatement 
Supervisor training and 32-hour Lead Abatement 
Worker training required 

• Company licensure with state where project  
occurs required 

 
 
 

 
RRP projects and lead abatement activities are two separate programs. EPA regulates the RRP program in Connecticut, 
Maine, and New Hampshire. Massachusetts, Rhode Island, and Vermont implement the RRP program in their states. All New 
England states regulate their lead abatement program. Both lead abatement and RRP Rule apply to pre-1978 housing and 
child-occupied facilities, but the intention for doing the work is key in determining how to treat the worksite. 

If the worksite is pre-1978, EPA assumes the presence of lead-based paint and the RRP Rule applies. Always use an  
EPA- certified Renovator or state-certified lead inspector or risk assessor to test all components of your work area if you are 
testing to exempt out of the rule. In projects involving both lead abatement and renovation, abatement work is usually 
completed first, and it must conclude by passing a lead dust clearance test. If the project continues with renovation, the 
RRP Rule still applies unless additional lead testing determines that no lead-based paint is present, or a lead-free certificate 
is issued post abatement. 

WHAT HOMEOWNERS & RENTERS SHOULD KNOW 
ABOUT RRP 
If your home or childcare facility was built before 1978, you should assume the presence of lead-based paint. 
RRP is the law, and it protects you and your family from the harmful effects of lead. 

 

⃝ Ask to see the company’s RRP 
firm certification. 

⃝ Ask to see the contractor’s 
individual RRP Renovator 
certification. 

⃝ Talk with your contractor about lead-safe work practices. Ask about lead 
testing with EPA-approved lead test kits. Look for: plastic containments in the 
work area; HEPA vacs and wet wipes for cleaning; clearing of objects from 
work area or covering large objects that cannot be removed. 

 

EPA CONTACTS 
Region 1 TSCA Lead Paint Enforcement Coordinator 
Molly Magoon  magoon.molly@epa.gov  
617-918-1848 

Region 1 TSCA Lead Paint Program Coordinator 
Jennifer Shoemaker shoemaker.jennifer@epa.gov  
617-918-1642 

 

 

LEAD RRP RULE IS NOT THE SAME AS LEAD ABATEMENT  

R EPOR T POTEN TI A L  RRP VIOLATIONS  

If you see a potential RRP violation in 
your home or community, submit a 
tip online to EPA Region 1. 

https://go.usa.gov/xsmPH 
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